Could I get???

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by oakash, Dec 8, 2009.

1. oakash

oakash Guest

Dec 8, 2009
    I am a newbie, just activated a minute ago. And I have a question. I have met some goats, someone we know has nubians and they live near us. I would really like to get two doe pygmy goats. We have a half acre, and we could pen them up in a 30 by 10ish area. I haven't measured it exactly. So here are some questions, would it be alright to get some?

Are oranges poisonous?

We would let them roam around while we are watching, because I think we have some plants that are poisonous to goats.

We live in Florida, so it doesn't get too cold, but we have a little shelter, I don't think it is big enough though. What is the smallest shelter two pygmy goats could live in?

And how much does the food cost?

How much hay would last two pygmys?

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    30X 10 isnt ideal nor is it terrible. SOunds like it would do for 2 small goats.

as to oranges - nope not poisonous :greengrin:

A 6X4 shelter should be adequet size for 2 small goats. even 4X4 would work - just makes it hard if you need to put food and water in there when it rains.

Food cost depends on your area. Best to call your feed store to find out the cost per bag of goat feed. The average cost here in NJ is 13-15.00 for a 50lb bag. THat should last you at least a month or longer with only 2 none bred does.

as to hay -- depends on how much you get how long it will last. ;)

Figure on a bale a week could be more could be less, just depends on how cold it is (I always feed more in the cold) and how much you feed them.

3. oakash

oakash Guest

Dec 8, 2009
    Okay, thanks!

Here are some more questions....

1. Grooming/nail clipping? I have read on here about that and need to know some things about it. How much do clippers cost, how many times a month do you clip them, and how hard is it?