Couple of things I need help with.... x

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by happyhogs, Oct 15, 2009.

1. happyhogs

happyhogs Member

Oct 12, 2009
    Hi Newbie here!!

I was wondering, what is the minimum safe height for stake and rail fencing to keep in a pair of pygmies? They will be living in a Primary school and I want children to be able to view them and pet them but don't want them jumping over. I plan to use half round stakes with a three rail fence covered in heavy guage mesh (square holes of approx 5cm sq) I know the children will be able to see through the mesh but it would be nice if they could pet them over the fence too (for those too wary to actually go in with them)

And secondly, as I am getting my goats now, with an English winter setting in, do they need coats and are coats safe? They are six months old. They have a brand new shed with an off-the-floor wooden bench if they wish to sleep on it and I was planning on bedding them on straw with shavings underneath but they will be regularly cleaned out....I can't use the deep bedding method due to health and safety requirements at the school.

Thanks x

2. sparks879

sparks879 New Member

i would do a mininum of four feet. Pygmies dont tend to be jumpers but its a safety thing as well as for other things getting in.
    You want that to be safe from other creatures going over the fence
    beth

3. RowdyKidz

RowdyKidz Senior Member

Apr 2, 2009
    NW Ohio
    Yes, I would say about 4 feet as a bare minimum. My friend has Pygmies too and that's how high her fence is an a two month old JUMPED out of it and some dogs jumped into it and it's electric!

4. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Mine are in 4 foot high pens made with goat panels..... haven't had a jumper yet :wink: Though I do think that my goats are just a bit too heavy to be able to jump :greengrin:

5. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ