Cow Diarrhea

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by Green Mountain Farm, Apr 27, 2020.

1. Green Mountain Farm

Green Mountain Farm Well-Known Member

Dec 31, 2019
    Virginia
    Hello all!
    I am not an expert on cow health. My cow started having diarrhea and I don't know why. Can you help me think of reasons that could cause this? It looks like liquified feces and it smells pretty bad (and I don't have a sensitive nose so that's saying something).

2. lovinglife

lovinglife Active Member

Jun 6, 2013
    Southern Idaho
    How old is the cow and what are you feeding?

3. Nigerian dwarf goat

Nigerian dwarf goat Well-Known Member

Sep 24, 2017
    Texas
    Is she having trouble shedding her winter coat?

Green Mountain Farm likes this.
  4. Sfgwife

Sfgwife Well-Known Member

Feb 17, 2018
    North Cakalaki

Do they have nice green pasture right now? Have you wormed them this spring yet? I ask about the pasture because it does happen when it greens up in spring. They go from dry hay to lush greens and it takes them a bit to acclimate to it. How old is the cow? If it a young calf i would suspect cocci or ecoli here. It has been really wet for us though.

5. Green Mountain Farm

Dec 31, 2019
    Virginia
    A year-old in May and we feed her sweet feed made for cattle.

6. Green Mountain Farm

Dec 31, 2019
    Virginia
    Not that I know of. I was brushing her and she seemed to have lots of shedding.

7. Green Mountain Farm

Dec 31, 2019
    Virginia
    The pasture hasn't grown as fast as it usually does this spring. And she hasn't been dewormed I was looking into doing that right before this happened. Again, I'm new to this.
    She's almost a year-old.
    What's your favorite dewormer?

8. Nigerian dwarf goat

Nigerian dwarf goat Well-Known Member

Sep 24, 2017
    Texas
  9. Grassland Goats

Grassland Goats Member

May 24, 2018
    Iowa