Crazy Buckling Oliver did it again!

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by 3pygmymom, Dec 4, 2009.

1. 3pygmymom

3pygmymom New Member

Nov 16, 2009
    Lancaster, PA
    I came home from work yesterday to see Oliver out in the meadow with the girls, UGH! I went over to the gate and Allis came running as she normally does but Casey was slowly walking with Oliver by her side as he is nibbling her making those garbled noises! I got in there as fast as I could only to see Casey standing there with him mounted on her!!! She is 7 months old and I was SURE he was secure in his pen!!! I know she was bred, the after appearance on her hind end proved that he did get her but I don't know if it took since I am a newbie :GAAH:! I guess I count for a possible due date and then watch in about 18 days to see if she goes back into heat. Oliver was being rough with Allis and she was running from him as I think he got her when he jumped into their pen about 2 months ago and I was really afraid he would butt her with those horns of his! I moved him away from their pen and was just devastated when I came home to this circus, what a bad goat mom!!!!

2. BetterBuckskins

BetterBuckskins New Member

Feb 1, 2009
    Taxachusetts
    These things happen, If your doe took she will probably be fine. Maybe you need to reinforce The fence in your buck pen with electric tho. Our bucks were in electric net fencing all summer with no escape problems, now that we have built them a regular winter fence, they won't even touch it, they think it's hot even tho it's not, we just have a hot wire around the top and bottom of the fence.

3. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    haha just goes to show you how determined the bucks are when there is a doe in heat!

Dont feel bad it happends -- been there done that.

Yup i would assume her pregnant (doesnt usually take more then one try) but if she comes back into heat in 3 weeks count your blessings :)