The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have a crippled boer buck. I am kind of new to the business and I can't tell what is wrong with him. His hooves are fine, but his front legs he keeps stiff when he walks. He has lost a lot of weight. Please, does anyone know what is wrong with him. If the problem is incurable how much should I try to sell him for? He is registered 94% solid red with white spots on belly. All help is appreciated!!! Thanks!!

·
Registered
1,078 Posts
He needs to go to a vet. Honestly, I wouldn't sell him like that. You wouldn't get anything for him. Even at the sale barn he wouldn't bring anything, not to mention, it is an ethics issue. You don't want the reputation of bringing unhealthy animals anywhere.
This is one of the hard parts of having goats. You have to be responsible and know when it is time to bring in a vet. This would be one of those times.
I would use fortified b complex at 1 mL per 20 lbs, probios for rumen support, and banamine for pain until I could get him in somewhere.

·
I'm not addicted - I'm in love!
4,914 Posts
The first things I think of are CAE, and something that I think is called infectious arthritis, which can sometimes happen when a buck is bred to a doe with a uterine infection.
Has he been tested for CAE?
I think a vet is a good idea, especially if you think it is an emergency, but even so you should also do research yourself since many vets don't know a whole lot about goat diseases.

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I just looked it up and it seems like he does have cae because he had the symptoms. It said just about all you can do is give them aspirin. Is this saying the aspirin we take? If so how do you feed it to him?

·
Crazy Goat Lady
4,251 Posts