The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to goats, have 2 Nigerian Dwarf Does. Shelly (red) is 2 months and Imari (chamoisee) is 3 months. I know they are very young to tell much yet buy would love to get some opinions. I am trying to learn more about conformation and giving some thought to showing them. Thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
8,709 Posts
Overall, they seem OK. It would be easier to critique them if you have them on a flat surface and have them set.

First doe:
Her brisket looks good
Neck maybe a tad short.
Her back could be much more level, you want it flat and a little uphill. It could be how she is standing though.
For her age her width looks pretty good.

Second doe:
Back is better than the first, though still downhill.
It's hard to tell in the pics but her brisket looks a little weak.
Capacity is looking good now though her back legs look bowed?

Like I said correct pics would help A LOT :)

·
Registered
17,285 Posts
Ok,
Doe #1 in the pics
Cons:
She could use more strength in her chine
Hips are a bit higher than the withers
Slightly steep rump, BUT almost ideal
Could use a longer neck

Pros:
She has fair depth
Close to ideal rear legs
Brisket blends well
Her topline might level out with maturity
Fairly wide in the escutcheon

Doe #2
Cons:
A bit steeper rump than doe 1
Short neck
Looks like she doesn't have much brisket, and it could blend better
Needs more depth

Pros:
Level looking topline, but she is standing funny so can't really judge that
Good legs, almost ideal
Wide in the escutcheon

And a plus for them both is that they are disbudded!!!! That is a very good thing!
I can't judge the pasturns because they are in the grass, but overall they are good looking does. And they should get better when they are older and done growing, that is when you can really judge them, because they are not at an odd growth stage. But they have potential for being as young as they are.