Critique this buck's pedigree please - UPDATE

Discussion in 'Mini Mania' started by Epona142, Jul 13, 2009.

1. Epona142

Epona142 The farm that Hope began

May 25, 2008
    Madisonville, TX
    This is the buck I may be getting at the end of the year:

[​IMG]

What do you think? :?

2. ProctorHillFarm

ProctorHillFarm New Member

Re: Critique this buck's pedigree please

I dont recognize anything until three generations back, and then I only recognize the herd names, it's not until the 4th generation back where I recognize the animals.
    To me- the most important generations are parents and grandparents, further back than that, really everything is bred out.

3. Epona142

May 25, 2008
    Madisonville, TX

That's what I thought too. I am withholding judgment until I see sire/dam and udders. He's a cute correct little buck, and I think he will compliment my does nicely, but I'm still learning too.

4. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA

The very well known goats may be further back in the lines, BUT the parents and grandparents could be excellent products of those lines, if you can find pictures of them, you can really tell if they are compliments to their parents and know wether or not this buck will be a compliment to your herd.

5. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ

sounds like possibly a case of local identity rather then national identity so best to get pictures of his sire and his sire's dam's udder as well as his dam's udder (thats what he more more then likely throw)

6. sparks879

sparks879 New Member

you also have to remember that not everyone shows. There are fantastic animals that just havnt made it to the show ring.
    They very well may be animals just as nice as those in the fourth line of his pedigree.
    Its best to judge my pictures or if you can see the animals in person.
    beth

7. Epona142

May 25, 2008
    Madisonville, TX