The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
2,572 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's my cross something doe. I'm guessing she's between 2-3 years old. Critique on her please. Also, what breed(s) do you think she is?

Attachments

· Registered
1,037 Posts
I'm pretty new to goats, but I'll hazard that she has Saanen and Nubian in her. I will also say that she runs "downhill" rather than up, and has a steep rump; hasn't a whole lot of brisket, and might want to be a little more barrelly in the ribs; but she looks to be a nice, alert girl, and I wouldn't write her off by any means! She may well prove to be a good milker; and if bred to a buck who is more dairy in character, you could have nice kids. My opinion.

· Super Moderator
16,973 Posts
She looks like my Nubian kiko. She or my girl isn't one that you would pick out of a group

and say 'omg that's the nicest goat I ever saw' but I cross my girl to a Boer and I get top $ for her kids. They are blocky and grow fast. I'm no good at pin pointing what's good or bad but I wouldn't take any negative to heart because if she's like mine you'll love her kids ;)

· Registered
2,572 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
She looks like my Nubian kiko. She or my girl isn't one that you would pick out of a group

and say 'omg that's the nicest goat I ever saw' but I cross my girl to a Boer and I get top $ for her kids. They are blocky and grow fast. I'm no good at pin pointing what's good or bad but I wouldn't take any negative to heart because if she's like mine you'll love her kids ;)
Yes, I do love her kids!

Also, what are some more thoughts on her?

· Registered
5,528 Posts
I'm no expert, but here's what I see: :)

PROS:

Long neck, but could be longer
Looks to have a correct bite
Nicely blended throughout
Decent capacity, could use a bit more
Long rump
Really wide through the hips and pins, I like that about her
Decent spring of rib
Feminine head
Strong chine
Pasterns look okay