The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have some boer goat does and I plan on getting some Kiko boer crosses for does. Then I plan on buying a Spanish buck and breed them all to him. But my question is, will a 3 way cross do good in the market? I have never had enough to sell at the sales barn. I also plan on keeping some of the doelings. Any help is appreciated! Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I have had a big problem with worms lately, and I have heard they are more parasite resistant when they are crossed.

·
Banned
5,944 Posts
It's called hybrid vigor and it makes for a healthier, more illness/disease resistant, and stronger - for lack of a better word - animal all the way around. I have no experience with that 3-way cross but, I'm thinking that from what I've read about those 3 breeds, it should do good for you. You might want to call a few sale barns and see what they say.

·
2,203 Posts
It's very common in cattle. Mainly to improve:

Feet and legs
Fertility
Milk components
Longevity due to health relations (illness, worms, etc)
Weather tolerance

·
Registered
3,839 Posts
But my question is, will a 3 way cross do good in the market? !
It's going to depend on the market. At the livestock market close to me @ 90% of the goats are bought by one guy and as close as I can tell, he could care less what *kind* of goat they are. I've heard at some markets kids that are white with red heads sell much better.

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I am still worried about adding Spanish I there because not many people have Spanish goats, which makes me wonder if they aren't very good.?

·
Banned
5,944 Posts