Cysts contanining clear fluid

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by FizzyWizzy, Aug 12, 2010.

1. FizzyWizzy

FizzyWizzy New Member

I am new to goats and new to a Blogging as well so bare with me. I just purchased 4 new goats about a month ago, 1 female nigerian, 1 pygmy/faintingX and 2 pygmy wethers. The female developed cysts on either side of her neck just above her waddle. I took her to the vet yesterday and she drained them and is sending the fluid out to be tested. The fluid was clear which I am hoping is a good thing but they are back again today. I'm wondering if they are waddle cysts or something worse. Also because she has been had to get close to in the pen, I noticed at the vets that she had some scaley patches on her head. When I got home I noticed that the wether she is with also has it. I am assuming ringworm.
    Can anyone enlighten me on these??

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I hope the fluid comes back neg for CL and it is something easily taken care of.

As to the scaley patches on the head -- could be from dry skin maybe?

3. FizzyWizzy

FizzyWizzy New Member

If it was CL would the fluid not be pusy?
    The scaley patches are round and the more you rub it the more hair falls out.

4. StaceyRosado

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I cant say how CL will present itself. Early on if it doesnt have time to mature and burst on its own it could be liquid ... I really have no experience with CL thankfully. :-/

can you take a picture? if you cant post it here (needs to be 430X430 pix or less) then just email me directly [email protected]

5. FarmGirl18

FarmGirl18 New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Oklahoma
    There is such a thing as waddle cysts, hopefully that's what your dealing with, but it's always good to test the fluid.

6. FizzyWizzy

FizzyWizzy New Member

What do waddle cysts do? Am I going to have to drain them all the time or do they ever go away? :shrug: