The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a produce farm. Spring and summer are very busy so I try to plan kidding in the fall and milk until I get too busy in the spring/summer. Next year I will have 8 does in milk and I feel like that’s too many freshening all at once. I’d also like to stagger them so that I get milk all year round. I’ve always bottle raised kids in the past but I’m thinking that if I have kids in the spring and dam raise them, that I could milk once a day(or maybe skip days?) and I could work it into my schedule. I’ve never done this before and I have a ton of questions before I decide.

1. What age do you start separating at night to milk in the AM?
2. When do I separate bucklings and how does that work?
3. I will most likely be selling kids, when and how would I wean them?
4. After they are weaned can I dry up the does at anytime?
5. The does I would be breeding would be FF. How likely would they be to reject kids? If they rejected the kids and I bottle fed and sold right away, how long would I need to milk momma before drying her up?
6. Would kids nursing the dams effect the size and shape of their udders if I ever wanted to show them?

I'm sure I’ll think of more questions but that’s good for now. Also, please let me know if you have anything else to add that I may not be considering.

·
Registered
Kinder Goat Breeder
4,643 Posts
Hi there! Sounds like you will have your hands full next season!

1. I wait two weeks to start milking, but some people start milking once a day right away if the doe has less than two or three kids and enough milk to support all of you.

2. Most people separate whenever he starts extending fully. You can put bucklings in a separate pen and bring mom in for visits so he can get his meals.

3. Weaning at three months is preferable. It's best to just sell them to their new home without any weaning beforehand.

4. Yes.