Dealing with aggressive behavior

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by Feira426, Dec 25, 2019.

1. Feira426

Feira426 Active Member

Dec 11, 2019
    Texas
    I'm still pretty new to keeping goats and while I've figured some things out, other things... well, I'm still some degree of clueless.

What do you guys do to train your goats not to be aggressive towards people? Mine are usually good, but occasionally someone decides to try for a headbutt for no apparent reason, and I've had some of the younger ones try to jump on people (the jumping seems less aggressive and more playful, but still hurts and I need to get them to stop). I have a LOT of experience training horses - even did some horse training professionally. And I'm fairly good at training dogs. But goats are SOOOO different from anything I've worked with before.

A perfect example, and the reason I'm writing this right now instead of doing Christmassy things: my nine-year-old daughter was helping me with the milking this evening and went to bring in one of our does. Usually she comes in very willingly and doesn't cause any problems (aside from pulling kind of hard in her eagerness to get to her grain, which is a bit annoying but doesn't result in anyone getting hurt). This evening, for unknown reasons, she decided to start headbutting my daughter. It took me a minute to get out to help her, as I was in a separate area getting the milking things ready. She was scared and a little scratched up on her leg. She'll be fine, but I need to do something!