Depressed Kid

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by CaitlinD6, Aug 13, 2017.

1. CaitlinD6

CaitlinD6 New Member

Aug 13, 2017
    Hello all! I'm somewhat new to goat raising, I had goats when I was a kid but this is my first venture into really raising goats.

So here's my question:

I have an 11 week old Nubian kid that seems depressed and has green diarrhea (not severe, just clumpy; it rained last night). I dewormed her about 2 weeks ago with panacur at 1cc/20lbs, and have her on a coccidia preventive right now (CoRid at 15ml/1gal of water). She was anemic and I had her on 3cc Red Cell once a day until her color returned. Each of these dosages are on my vet's recommendation. She's on a 2 acre pasture with four herdmates and gets a very small handful of grain twice a day, as well as free choice alfalfa and costal bermuda hay. Salt and loose minerals offered free choice, but I just found out about offering baking soda, so I will be starting that today. She grazes, browses, eats, and drinks fine, she just hasn't seemed to be acting herself lately.

What could be wrong with her? Ruminal acidosis? Enterotoxemia? Something else? Or am I just overreacting because this is my favorite kid? Her mom has been slowly weaning her and her sister (who seems perfectly fine), and the herd dynamics have changed a bit because of it, could she just be depressed because of that? Sorry if that's a stupid question lol.

What can I do for her? Should I just call the vet? She's not in distress, she's eating and drinking and moving with the herd, she just doesn't seem to be very vibrant like she used to be. We've had a bad parasite season, and she got it the worst, could she still be stressed from that?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!!

capracreek likes this.
  2. Suzanne_Tyler

Suzanne_Tyler GreenTGoats

Jul 19, 2014
    US
    Don't offer baking soda free choice.

Dosing any meds in their water isn't a great idea. It's impossible to make sure they each get the correct dose.