Detecting heat

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by Tgmcr, Oct 16, 2020.

1. Tgmcr

Tgmcr Member

Mar 29, 2020
    Connecticut
    While I’m not necessarily new to goats, I am to breeding, and this is my first year getting into it.
    I purchased 2 does in March (one of which was pregnant and has since delivered 3 kids). I actually reached out to the person who I bought one of my girls from and planned on bringing both of them there for driveway breedings.
    My issue is that I have never really seen them come into heat. I’m sure they have and I just haven’t noticed because I’m newer to owning does, but I’ve never seen any super obvious signs.
    I have 3 wethers and I’ve always heard that when a doe is in heat the wethers will let you know, but my boys have never been overly Interested in the girls at all.
    This afternoon one of the girls is wagging her tail a decent amount and is definitely more talkative than normal but the boys could care less so I’m not sure that she’s really in heat...it’s also raining out today so she could just be telling me she’s mad about it lol.
    I obviously don’t want to bring them to the breeders only to find out they aren’t in heat, but I also don’t want to keep missing heat cycles! Should I assume that the boys will let me know when they are in heat? Or is that not always the case?

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

I wouldn't count on wethers. See if the person who has a buck will give you a buck rag. The girls need the smell of the buck to show they are in heat better.

3. goatblessings

goatblessings Fair-Haven Supporting Member

Jan 5, 2015
    Southwest Ohio