Diarrhea? Baby goats

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by New2nigerians, Mar 25, 2019.

1. New2nigerians

New2nigerians New Member

Mar 25, 2019
    Ukiah, Ca
    Hey everyone! I'm VERY new to goats. We just picked up 3 baby does (2 weeks old) nigerian goats this weekend. They seem to be doing well. Active, playing, drinking from the bottle well. I brought them inside this morning to do their morning bottle and one of them proceeded to have a loose, yellowy stool. Then she had another one a couple minutes after that was kind of yellow with more white frothy to it. THEN she had another which was back to the more normal brown they have had since I got them, but still on the loose side.

I'm feeding whole cows milk, mixed with a little bit of goat milk the lady we purchased them from gave us. 7oz, 4x a day. (8am, 12pm, 4pm, 8pm) Too much milk? I did increase it and without even thinking about it, I did not increase slowly. I'm not sure what to do. She is acting normal still (so far). Playful, urinating, etc. I did mix up some homemade electrolytes which I gave her a little bit of. Is there anything I should be doing? Or just watching for now?

Also...I feel like there's 100 different answers online. How long do they bottle feed? I have it scheduled out until 10-12 weeks. Should it be longer? I've also seen different answers on whether there should be free alfalfa offered yet in their pen. Any advice on how to successfully raise these little gals would be so appreciated!

side note - they did receive their first CD&T shot and I have plans to give them another in about 3.5 weeks. Plus a wormer I think?

2. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Add a pinch of baking soda to the first bottle of the day. You could add yogurt to her bottles. Have a fecal done to include coccidia.

mariarose and GoofyGoat like this.

3. SalteyLove

SalteyLove Well-Known Member

Jun 18, 2011
    New England
    Yes, offer them good alfalfa or grass hay now