The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to this and worried about one of my new goats. I bought four Nigerian Dwarf goats and they all seem to be doing well, except for one. I have a wether and buck who are doing well in their area, and a doe with and a doe without diarrhea. It is the smaller goat that has diarrhea which concerns me a little more. She is less active than the others but eats, drinks and follows the other doe grazing the field. I was under the impression that they were only pastured and feed hay, supplemented by minerals, and kelp. She told me her goats generally do not like the Purina brand goat mineral so I decided to wait until Monday and go to the better feed store the next town over (we live in a small town). Did three days without minerals cause it? It got in the mid to upper 90's for the first day, but she seemed to stay in the shade with the other doe which didn't seem to mind. She is eating and drinking and walking around, but doesn't seem as lively as the others. No place is open today but should I buy some Nutridrench tomorrow? Goat Pro-biotics? Yogurt? None of the goats have been wormed although she gave me some copper bolus. She said they would be easier to dose at a slightly larger weight. She was born 3/3/13.

·
Super Moderator
58,899 Posts
Probably the stress of the new home brought on a coccidia bloom. I would treat her for coccidia. A B Complex shot wouldn't hurt along with Probios daily for a week.

·
Registered
30,614 Posts
It sounds ike she does not feel well...It could be dietary runs..do to the change in graze...But she is at the right age for Cocci...Sulmet or Dimethox are good OTC choices...I would worm everyone with Valbazen (1 cc per 10# orally) if under 6 months old and Ivomec plus (1 cc per 40# sub Q) for those who are older and treat for cocci...about 6 cc Pepto will help her dry up and soth her tummy...