The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been searching all over and getting much information about DE, and thought it would be pretty good to have a thread going on just this subject.
I have never used it before but am thinking about getting it as a topical bug killer for the goats, and have been finding a lot of different ways that it can be used, and different opinions on effectiveness, so I am hoping people who do, or have in the past, use it will chip in and say what they use(d) it for and if they thought it worked.
Thanks for your opinions :)

·
Registered
29,851 Posts
De is a good natural way to control pest...Make sure to get food grade...the food grade DE I get is white like flour...the stuff at tractor supply is garbage IMO...never worked...we add it to the areas our chickens like to have a dirt bath...so they dust themselves : )
I met a guy who came to buy Saanen bucks from me who raises a few 100 head of boer..he said he has never used chemical wormer..only food grade DE...he leaves it out free choice...adds it to the feed ration and dust the hay with it...he said after a while you begin to see white berries lol..the white berries loaded with DE help spread the de every where they goats go...he claims to have healthy goats with low egg counts every time...I havent used it that heavy yet...but I cant see how it will hurt : )

·
Registered
617 Posts
I use it and mix it in with the minerals,only been using it a few months,there is a lot of controversy wether it works or not,tenesee meat goats have info on there site,I figure it can't hurt and its not very exspensive

·
Registered
29,851 Posts
I get mine from our feed company..they use it in there feed ..they dont advertise it as a bagged item but mine will bag some up just the same and sell it to me...ask for food grade...
there are also places on line you can order from but shipping is killer!

·
Goatless goat momma
7,887 Posts