The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
621 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to disbudding goats as we bought all ours as adults. I have helped a friend with 4 and done 3 of my own. Before we used her burner- but I recently got a Rhinehart 30x and that is what we used on our buckling (19 days old). The husband was NOT happy about having to hold him as he was just sure I was killing the poor little guy. The dehorner was HOT HOT HOT! I burned a full circle on the picnic table in about 3 seconds- It was glowing red. Anyhow I burned him for 3 seconds cooled it with an ice pack burned the other side, cooled and repeated this twice more for a total burn time of 9 seconds. The others we have done got the nice copper ring and were dry dry looking afterward and for the rest of the time until they caps fell off. His looks oozy and watery. There was a copper ring when we first finished but not now. There is no way I will get the husband to hold him again- he has already told me that several times. I will not have a goat here with horns. I will try to attach a picture when i can get one.

·
Premium Member
15,546 Posts
19 days is pretty old to disbud a buckling. A lot of the time...if they're that old...you won't be able to get all the horn tissue and will get scurs. With the x30...you need to hold for more like 10-15 seconds. When I had my x50...I didn't have to hold it as long, but with the x30 i've found it needs to be held longer for sure...that's why you got the oozing/watery look. I also like to spray blu kote on after disbudding.

I try my disbudder out on a piece of wood first to make sure it's hot enough. If it is...it will burn a ring almost instantly. You want to make sure it's at full heat before disbudding.

Looks like you could get scurs with this guy...kind of hard to tell for sure, but it doesn't look like a "clean" disbud.

·
Registered
621 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·