didn't take pregnant doe... but have three more preggers!

Discussion in 'Kidding Koral' started by farmergal, Jan 18, 2010.

1. farmergal

farmergal New Member

Jun 19, 2009
    Northern California
    Hi all,
    Quick question (quick because I have to decide by tomorrow morning!)
    I have a pregnant Nigi named Emily, who is due sometime between February 18th and early March. I don't know because I bought her bred, and the woman wasn't sure when she had conceived.
    I am taking 3 other does to the Large Animal Hospital (20 mins away) to be have ultrasounds done, to find out if their breedings took. Should I take Emily too? It is the same price between three or four does, and I am hoping that the ultrasound could tell me more precisely when her due date would be. (Also, how many kids... and since this is my first time as doe midwife it would be nice to know what to expect!)
    What do you think? Too stressful for her? She was a show goat and is fairly used to traveling in a crate.

2. TinyHoovesRanch

TinyHoovesRanch New Member

Re: transporting very pregnant doe? (time sensitive)

I took 3 of mine when they were that far along and they did fine.. For a first time mom you shoul expect only one or 2

3. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA

If she's used to travelling and the vet isn't far away then it would probably be ok, but if she seems stressed when you load her you probably are better off just leaving her behind. Is it really worth the risk?

4. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ

she should be fine -- :)

5. farmergal

farmergal New Member

Jun 19, 2009
    Northern California

Thanks for the quick responses everyone! Y'all are great :)