Disbudding kids tomorrow

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by Di, Mar 12, 2008.

1. Di

Di Crazy Goat Lady

Jan 29, 2008
    central PA
    My Vet will be here tomorrow morning to disbud my first round of kids. :sigh: I'm going out now to clip around the horn buds. Wish me luck. This is almost as scary as the birthing part. I'm hopeful I can keep it together tomorrow.

Di

2. RunAround

RunAround New Member

Feb 17, 2008
    Massachusetts
    Good luck! I am sure all will go fine. I think its harder on us than the kids. The kids have usually recovered long before I have. :wink:

3. goathappy

goathappy New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Illinois
    It'll be alright, you just have to remember that you do it for their better good :wink: I'm still not used to it, I have to have my mom do it still.

4. liz

liz Active Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    I'm a newbie at this too! I had a doeling done by another breeder who does his own..per her owners request as I prefer to KEEP the horns. I also took a lil' tiny doeling with the said doe as she will be sold with her polled sister and I felt it wouldn't be fair to the polled one to be defenseless.....any how I clipped them around their buds and the first one about fell asleep in my arms as I shaved! The procedure itself seemed ok...they didn't like being held down more than that super hot iron to their dinky little heads! First doeling fit well in the holding box, second one and her really short pygmy legs wouldn't fit..the box was too big! So she was held and the deed done they were bouncing around within minutes! I still can't bring myself to do it, banding the boys and giving shots is hard enough! lol

5. fcnubian

fcnubian New Member

Oct 22, 2007
    The first time I seen it done it made me sick to my stomach.