The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I had two kids born Friday and I need to disbud them, but I am absolutely not comfortable with using an iron on them. I don't have anyone I could take them to to be divided, I wouldn't trust our local town vet because he's killed dogs while spaying them and I don't think he has any experience with gits, and I don't want to take them to the vet that's an hour away because I did that last year, it cost a small fortune, and one of the two still grew pretty good scurs.

I have a dehorning paste that I'm comfortable with using, but I'm not sure if it works on babies that haven't had the bud burned before. I used it last year in a market goat when he started getting a very small scur, but that different (or I would assume). Any advice? I'm still new to baby goats and I would really prefer not to burn them but I know they need to be discussed in order to easily sell (at least where I live).

·
Registered
3,489 Posts
Disbudding paste is designed specifically for removing buds that haven't been burned before (and works best that way). However, they most likely need to be done NOW--particularly if they are bucklings. With disbudding paste, as soon as you can feel the horn buds under the skin (feels like a little bump), but before they erupt to the surface is the time to do it. Shave the top of the head for best results and so you don't accidentally smear the paste anywhere it doesn't belong. If you have banamine, give them some about half an hour beforehand. Put a towel on the floor and lay the kid down on its belly and then straddle it and pin its head down so it can't wiggle. Pin it down between your knees just like when using a hot iron.