Discussing at 4 weeks??

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by tiff, Feb 12, 2018.

1. tiff

tiff Member

Dec 28, 2017
    We just had triplets 2 days ago and I called he vet today. We have 1 that needs disbudding. I've never done this before and would fee more comfortable with a vet doing so. I called today and she said that we would need to wait until he was 4-6 weeks or until there was nearly an inch of horn there. Everything I've ever read says 3-10 day range. What do y'all think? There are only 2 vets in our area that do this, and I chose her because she anesthetises for it and the other does not. She also said that we could wether the same day but I would fee really bad for the little guy Having all that at once...

2. Goats Rock

Goats Rock Member

Jun 20, 2011
    NE Ohio
    We disbud at 3-7 days old. Easier on he kid, way easier on me. (Last year I had 93 kids to disbud!). Do you live near any goat people that could disbud and show you how? De horning is way more traumatic than disbudding, for the goat and for you!

3. Kath G.

Kath G. Well-Known Member

Jul 13, 2017
    Wisconsin
    SO. MUCH. EASIER. when done at around a week or two. We ran into a situation (years earlier when we were having the vet disbud) where the vet was unavailable until around 3-4 weeks old. No problem, they said. It'll be fine, they said. It was really traumatic, because the horn buds were so well established that sizeable scurs kept growing on the edges and having to be re-burned. One baby in particular was old enough that (imo) she remembered the repeated burnings, and went from super friendly to really head shy. I felt terrible. Now as a mature doe she's sweet and friendly but shy with anything being done around her head.
    Now, I think disbudding is an art as much a science; maybe that vet has later disbuddings down to an art form, so my experience might just be a blip. Do you know anyone else who uses that vet for disbudding, to ask how it went for them?