The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I am brand new to the goat game and have 3 four month olds that I adopted about three weeks ago. They were dam raised with very little human interaction, so I’ve been working on learning their trust. Every night I go into their barn with treats and sit with them. Everything has been going great until about three days ago. The smallest one, female, has started crying after she eats the treats and holding her head in the air. There is also a loud gurgling sound coming from her tummy that started a couple of days ago. The crying and head movement lasts about a minute or two and goes away. I have no idea what this could be and am growing very concerned. She eats normally and is active. We feed orchard grass freely. Their nightly treats are a mix of manna pro probiotic treats, manna pro goat balancer, and cracked corn (a handful of each for all three goats to share). Is this something I need to get a vet involved for, or is there something I can do here for her? Thank you all in advance.

·
Administrator
85,553 Posts
Corn is not good for goats.

The doe kid may have blockage in to e throat maybe as to why she is doing that.
A video would help so we can see what she is doing.

Or is she trying to look at the world upside down and propellering her head?

Her rumen may of kicked in if you hear them loud from the left side.
Gut sounds are perfect.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Corn is not good for goats.

The doe kid may have blockage in to e throat maybe as to why she is doing that.
A video would help so we can see what she is doing.

Or is she trying to look at the world upside down and propellering her head?

Her rumen may of kicked in if you hear them loud from the left side.
Gut sounds are perfect.