The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been milking my backyard goats for 3 years now and drinking the milk raw (I follow safe milking procedures and refrigerate the milk right away). I've always felt comfortable about this choice.

However, today I got into a bit of a fight/discussion on a friend's Facebook page with someone who works in food safety, and he basically tried to make me feel as if I was being unnecessary risky by not pasteurizing. I'm a new mom, so I think I'm sensitive to any accusations that I'm being "unsafe." My daughter is only 10 months so she's not drinking non-human milk yet, but she will drink the goat milk at some point in the future.

I guess I'm just looking to hear from other goat owners... Do you feel safe drinking the milk from your own animals raw, or do you feel that it's safer to pasteurize?

·
Look for me in the barn...
1,074 Posts
We do drink it raw, and feel completely safe doing so. However, there are no infants or young children here. I'm not sure what we would do if there were, but I think that if/when I have children, assuming I still have goats (totally planning on it!) I might "lightly" pasteurize the milk for awhile. I have a friend who has a small goat dairy and farmers market in AZ, and they employ a method called "vat pasteurization" which, instead of quickly heating the milk to a high temp for a short period of time, the milk is heated to a lower temp for a longer period of time. Here are two links with some more info:

http://www.thekitchn.com/what-is-vat-pa ... ilk-167433

http://www.idfa.org/files/249_Pasteuriz ... ethods.pdf

·
Registered
109 Posts