Do you have mean goats?

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by sweetgoats, Jan 13, 2009.

1. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator

Oct 18, 2007
    Peyton CO.
    I was just wondering if anyone had any goats that get mean after they kid?

I have been doing this for 9 years and I have never had a doe that is as mean as Zyla to me.

My DH called me and told me that she had kidded. We asked what they were Bucks or does? He said that there was one doe but she would not let him near the other one. As I try to even touch her or a baby she BITES me. :sigh: I was reaching to the side of her last night to get her grain bowl and she butted me and then bit me. :tears:

She is 4 years old and she has kidded before but never with me.

I just thought it was weird (but I really guess it is pretty normal). All my other does are like. HEY SEE WHY I DID? They are like so proud of them and wants to show them off.

2. ArcticGoats

ArcticGoats New Member

Jun 9, 2008
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Hi Lori -

I guess mom's CAN be protective - I obviously don't have any experience with that yet, but I do have one goat, the dominant one, starting to bite at one of the more subordinant ones. They are nice to me but I worry he'll cause damage as he bites at the ear - do they usually do ok? Is that normal or is he especially mean?

:sun:

3. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    I had a couple real meanies - but it wasn't after kidding - it was everyday. So I banded their horns and when any of the big girls act naughty - I grab them by their ears - they hate it.

When one bites, I have no problem slapping them across the nose. They learn real quick that I am at the top of the totem pole not them. Usually by the second bite they have learned their lesson

4. Muddy Creek Farm

Muddy Creek Farm New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Keokuk, Iowa
    I don't have any "meanies" in my herd. I don't think a meanie would last long here before being sold.

5. sweetgoats

sweetgoats Moderator