The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering who's in favor of pasteurizing the goat milk and who isn't. I have raw frozen milk just wondering if I should pasturize it. I cleaned the goat I cleaned my hands but I am still freaked out to drink it.

·
I'm watching you
22,257 Posts
I was raised on raw milk and have drank it my whole life. My children and now my grandchild all drink the raw milk I produce. I can't stand the taste of pasteurized milk at all.
Either way, milk that you produced fresh yourself is much healthier than store bought commercial milk.

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
I don't pasturize. I keep sanitary collection procedures and chill or freeze the milk right away. Haven't had any issues so far, but my only milker lives in the house as a pet, so maybe she's extra clean.

I'm sure someone more experienced can give you detailed advice on the pros and cons, I'm a newbie. :)

·
Rusty
192 Posts
Curious how do you keep your milker in the house? I love bringing a baby in the house now and then, but haven't figured out how to keep the goat berries in check

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
Curious how do you keep your milker in the house? I love bringing a baby in the house now and then, but haven't figured out how to keep the goat berries in check
My Peggy Sue is a registered Pygmy and she's only 16 inches tall, so she is indoor pet sized. I couldn't keep a standard dairy goat inside...or could I? Hmmmmm.... ;)

She's lived in the house since she was 3 days old and I trained her to do "business" outside. Pee is no problem, but we do have occasional berry accidents. The way I avoid them is by taking her outside IMMEDIATELY when she stands up after lying down for a bit. I also try to walk her at least every two hours. She pees on command and she always poops right after she pees, so I don't have to wait forever like I do with the dog.