The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to goats and have been milking our 1 1/2 year old Alpine FF for almost 3 months. She kidded in late March so she's been in milk for 7 months or so. I milk once a day and measure every time. This fall her output started dropping and I was able to tie it to her heat cycle. The last time it dropped she was in standing heat and was bred (10/17). I assumed she would pick back up again afterward but she's still a bit low, and today dropped way down again. Is it because she's bred and (hopefully) pregnant? Is it because the weather's changed and it's definitely fall? Nothing else has changed here (diet, etc.) and she looks/acts great. I had intended to milk her up to the last 2 months of pregnancy but I'm really hoping she'll pick back up again. I wish I could find a sample production schedule of a "typical" dairy doe so I can really understand the lactation cycle over the course of a year taking into account kidding, heats, pregnancy, the seasons, etc. Those lactation curves online are too general for me to really understand. Any and all advice would be appreciated. If her production doesn't pick back up over the winter it feels like it will hardly be worth the effort to milk!

·
Registered
30,547 Posts
I wish there was a protocal the goats follow but everything effect milk production lol...Genetics, Stress, Food, illness, heat, pregnancy, whether or not she dam raised and how long and worm load, have a fecal done to rule it out. Check for anemia.
There is not one guide to meet how every Goat will act. General guide is 10 months lacation period, but some go longer,others not that long...Its common to decrease while in heat, some when bred...