Doe has very flakey skin and small clumps of fur falling off her head?

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by Rascal66, Feb 7, 2019.

1. Rascal66

Rascal66 Member

Feb 7, 2019
    USA
    Hello!

I'm fairly new to owning goats, have had them for about a year and a few months now. So, my little one who is a Kiko, she appears to have a lot of flakey skin and has small patches of fur specifically coming off her head, not really anywhere else... I'm not sure what to think of it.
    20190206_162625.jpg 20190206_162346.jpg 20190206_161950.jpg 20190206_162037.jpg

So I have tried to do some research and I'm stumped. I have tried very hard to look for little bugs but I don't seem to really 'see' any... Could it just be the winter? Dandruff? I'm in the Northwestern coast and i have noticed that because of the changing of season, my girls are beginning to shed lightly. But for her, she is losing little clumps right behind her horns.

As far as mineral intake goes, I offer loose mineral but currently don't have it set up out there full time yet, so they get some at least every other day usually.

My goats are on my pasture and they really just graze off the grass and eat the hay we offer. They get occasional treats, but I just noticed this on her last week.

Last detail I could offer is that she is about a year old and was exposed to a buck in Oct/Nov so I suspect her to be pregnant...

She is the only one who seems to have this going on for her.. I'm still fairly new to keeping goats, but Any advice, pointers or tips would be great!

2. SalteyLove

SalteyLove Well-Known Member

Jun 18, 2011
    New England
    My first guess would be mites. You won't be able to see them with the naked eye.

Treat with INJECTABLE ivermectin. Injected subcutaneously.

3. mariarose

mariarose Well-Known Member

I really think it is one of 2 problems, and the problems are VERY often linked, so it could be both.