Doe in Milk question

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by kelebek, May 22, 2008.

1. kelebek

kelebek New Member

Oct 5, 2007
    South Texas
    Ok - so I am really new to the whole milking thing and am wanting to start milking my 2 big girls when they freshen in a couple months.

Boots (mom) is 50% Saanen 50% Boer - Freshened 1 time before with twins
    Lola (daughter) is 75% Boer 25% Saanen - Boots is her mom - Lola will be 2 years old in June!!!!

So here is my dilema - I noticed when I got these 2 about 4 months ago that one in a while Lola would still try to nurse off of her mom - but typlically Mom would kick her away. When I was doing hooves and Ivomectin injections a couple weeks ago that Boots was uddering up a bit (ok no big deal) and her teats looked really long and "full". I just left them alone.

Well, Sunday, I went out to do some cleaning and what not in the barn and found Lola nursing - like NURSING. Lola is 2 years old and pregnant herself!! So I looked and mom's udder looked a bit bigger. Not "full" by anymeans, but larger. So last night I put her in the stand and she has MILK! Like I barely squeezed her teat and a huge stream came right on out. And both sides.

Should I leave Boots alone and try to seperate her from her daughter - or just leave them together so they don't stress? Could I milk mom or should I wait till she freshens to start that?

Thanks
    Allison

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    when is Boots due? I stop milking then when they are 2 months from kidding so I probably wouldn't milk her.

I would separate the two until Lola kids. She obviously was never weaned from her mom so she needs to realize she is not a kid anymore.

3. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Allison, this will be a big problem especially if you want the milk for yourself. Have these 2 always been together?