The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hiya

So im brand new to baby goats and such, our new mother goat however has had babies before as far as we know but we are having issues with her stepping over her babies (3 of them) when they try to feed. she lets them feed once or twice a day as far as ive seen but not very long so they don't seem to get much as she will only let them feed if the baby goat i deem to be her favorite is feeding otherwise if the other two babies try on their own she will not let them feed at all. i point to mention is he babies are fairly tamed they come up to us and jump all over us but the mother is not she will only let you touch her with food in your hand or if she is ok with it so i have been unable to get a hold of her teats to get some of the milk out of her very full udder. so for one baby we have had to take to hand feeding because she is much smaller and just didn't thrive like the other two. the babies are 3 weeks old, and the doe jenny is eating fine in fact she hasn't stopped eating in about 3 days and her udder is full so im not sure if her behavior is normal or if the babies are getting enough milk especially because the baby we are hand feeding is becoming very stubborn at feeding time.

any advice would be greatly appreciated,

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
also

This is lilyy the baby goat who we are hand feeding ... she has been standing in this way for a few days now and im just wondering what it could mean ? Because she is otherwise quiet health and happy except for standing still in this fashion.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
58,870 Posts
Hunched up is not good. Have you weighed the kids? If you are unsure if they are being fed, you should weigh them daily with a scale that weighs in pounds and ounces or pounds and tenth of pounds. You can get a hanging fish scale very inexpensively.

How much were you feeding her with the bottle?

·
Registered