Doe will not take buck

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by browning1396, Sep 13, 2014.

1. browning1396

browning1396 New Member

Sep 13, 2014
    My doe is a 2 year old American Nubian, and has never been bred before. I tried a few months ago with the first buck I had but she wouldn't take. She was acting like she was in heat, showed all the signs of being in heat, but she wouldn't let the buck mount her. It got to the point where my friend and I tag teamed it and I held her tail up and he held her head so she couldn't move, but she still wouldn't take. The same just happened, but with a new buck. She wouldn't let the new buck "do the deed" and I'm so stuck on what to do. This is my first time breeding goats, and I'm honestly clueless on what to do! Please help :)
    :whatgoat:

2. RPC

RPC Boer Goat Breeder

That's really weird I personally have never had that happens. Do you just leave the buck with her for a while maybe she is shy and likes to breed at night.

3. Tenacross

Tenacross Well-Known Member

May 26, 2011
    Enumclaw, Wa.
    Last year one of my does never seemed to be in standing heat. Showed the signs like your doe, but wouldn't hold still. I never saw her in heat enough for the buck to breed her, but he must of because she kidded twins. If I were you, I would try to put your doe in a pen with the buck early on in the heat and leave them together for a few days. Like Roger said, things sometimes get done in the dark. At my farm it seldom works to hold the doe. The bucks don't seem to have much interest if the does are unwilling.

Last edited: Sep 14, 2014
  4. Goats Rock

Goats Rock Member

Jun 20, 2011
    NE Ohio
    I agree, leave her with the buck a couple of days and just watch in 20 days to see if she goes back into heat.
    She may just have a really short time she is receptive. I had (past tense) a doe that only accepted the buck