Featured Doe with teat lumps

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by ArnotFarm, Sep 11, 2017.

1. ArnotFarm

ArnotFarm New Member

Sep 11, 2017
    Let me start by saying I'm very new to the goat world! My terminology won't be correct so I apologize. I had some weathers about 20 years ago but am just getting back into them now that I have the property. I've never owned a doe so this is all new!

I was given two 8 week old bucklings along with their first freshening 1 year old dam/mom. When I arrived the owner who definitely takes fab care of her goats stated this doe had always had these bumps in her teats since her bucklings started nursing. Doe has never been hand/machine milked. The offer is soft with no redness or heat. She lets me milk her and doesn't act as if they hurt, the milk smells and tastes fine, since I've had her for the last 2 weeks, the size seems to fluctuate a tiny bit. She allows the 8 week old kids to nurse occasionally, but they are mostly off of her. The previous owner did state the kids nursed from behind her often.

Ideas? Is this normal?! Lol Orrr???[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

2. GaGoats2017

GaGoats2017 Member

Sep 5, 2017
    Welcome!

It looks like it could just be multiple teats maybe. I have had one in the past with regular size 1x1 teats, and half teats at the top. I'm sure there is a word for that.

I'm no expert, so it could be something else. I'm sure someone else will have something better to add.

ArnotFarm likes this.

3. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator

Looks like a weakened area. Rough nursing could have caused it.

nancy d and ArnotFarm like this.
  4. ArnotFarm

ArnotFarm New Member

Sep 11, 2017
    They are horribly rough nursers. They push her off her hind feet when they both get going!

5. ksalvagno

ksalvagno Moderator

That will do it. That is why some people pull kids and bottle feed. Nursing can ruin udders and teats.

ArnotFarm likes this.
  6. ArnotFarm

ArnotFarm New Member

Sep 11, 2017