The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to goats and I don't want a big bill because of an unhealthy new doeling. I fell in love with her but this is all the owner has told me: she was born 6/17/2013 her mother was a first time mom and had triplets so she is bottle feeding this one, she was born with a half dollar size bald spot but it has since grown hair. Other kids are fine. What does everyone think? She said in her response she doesn't know if the bald spot is a sign of future internal problems, what is that supposed to mean? It seems fishy, but she is so cute!! And I just love rescues, both of my wethers are rescue situations. She is exactly the breed and coloring that I want and I just think she's is the sweetest thing!

Attachments

·
Registered
979 Posts
much depends on what she is asking and the conformation of the dam & sure, including udder if you want milk. If she's a boer, that's up to you (can't tell boer/nubian from the pic). I wouldn't worry about the bald spot...she's probably thinking if its a birth defect there may be more...but hair might not of grown from skin or membranes being stuck. If she looks strong on her feet and coordinated when she's moving and is eating well, then no worries. If she's smaller for being the baby, you can supplement her with BoSe and fortified B complex as she grows.

·
Crazy Goat Lady
4,324 Posts
When you go see her, make sure she is happy and animated. She should have bright clean eyes. She's a pretty girl. I would continue the bottle feeding for a few more weeks, gradually reducing the number of bottles. I wean bottle babies, around 10 weeks. Making sure they are eating hay/grain/browse.

Good luck!

·
Banned
5,944 Posts