Does anyone else do trick training?

Discussion in 'Pack Goat Training' started by Clairepaws, Feb 23, 2016.

1. Clairepaws

Clairepaws Member

Feb 2, 2016
    FL
    I have been doing trick training with my girls for a few years now but I've never met anyone else who has. Wondering if any of you do and what your experiences are with it? :D

2. Damfino

Damfino Well-Known Member

Dec 29, 2013
    Right behind you
    All my goats start learning tricks from the time they are about 2 months old. The girls learn a few tricks and the boys learn a whole slew of them. They love it! They're very intelligent. The "fun" tricks--"Shake hands," "Spin", "Repent!" "Dance" are the easiest. The hardest trick to train is "lie down", but once they get it they're usually pretty good. The one I have to be most consistent with is "Whoa". This is the equivalent to "Stay" for a dog. They don't want to stay--they want to come close for cookies! It helps to carry a dressage whip for teaching "Whoa." When the goat tries to come closer I smack the whip on the ground to make him go back to where he was.

Judge Joe Pilotte saw me and one of my milk does practicing tricks in the aisle before our class at an ADGA show. He asked us come back into the ring after our class and do a performance. He's a really fun judge. At a different show where I was teaching a special class on working wethers, he saw my goat cart and had me hitch up so my goat could pull him into the ring like royalty. I can't remember, but I think that goat may have even shook hands with the judge after pulling him into the ring. I know he made a bow. :)

3. wintergreen

wintergreen New Member

Apr 4, 2013
    I taught some of mine to spin around, jump up on something, get off of something, dance, and bow.
    I taught one to lay down. I did this when she was still small enough to pick up and lay her down in my lap.
    Damfino, how do you teach yours to lie down?

4. Clairepaws

Clairepaws Member

Feb 2, 2016
    FL