The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
7,609 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Looking to specialize in one breed of goat, but I'm finding that very difficult... I love many kinds...

I'm thinking of going strictly oberhaslis, but I also like Nubians, their ears, colors, however they are loud. Mine is now behaving WHEW;) Then I have a Nubian Lamancha doeling too...

Am I the only one that have a couple different breeds? I'm just a backyard farmer/milker but would eventually like to switch to registered stock, I have a couple already, but just wanted to have better options for customers... I am thinking of breeding my reg Nubian to my registered ober buck and registering the offspring as experimental.

A part of me just wants to mix and match etc...which probably isn't a bad thing but would it get me anywhere?

·
Registered
4,274 Posts
I have Lamancha does and a buck, Nubian does and a buck, an Oberhasli doe, an Alpine doe and have put a deposit on a Nigerian Dwarf buck.

In my original herd, I had Alpines, Saanens, Nubians, LaMancha and an Alpine/Togg mix.

My now ex sold them all. When I started back up, I started with Alpine and Oberhasli. Added Nigerians and Nubians, then Boers.

Sold the Nigerians (not because of them, but because of the breed of dogs I had, the Nigie kids were too tiny to trust the fences) and then the Boers.

Lost my entire herd to an arsonist.

Started back up with 2 Nubian does (I had sold them a few months earlier), a Nubian buckling and 3 Lamancha does.

The next year I added a Lamancha buckling and kept 2 NuMancha doelings.

Mixed herd????? You got it!

·
Registered
78 Posts
We have all purebred goats surprisingly enough considering we are a rescue... we have nubian, nigerian dwarf, pygmy and boer ... we love them all, even the ones that aren't interested in people .... fortunately no real mean ones have come in yet!

·
Registered
100 Posts