The Goat Spot Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
395 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am considering purchasing a registered Nubian doe. The owner states that she had mastitis last year but is now clean. Will this have any effect on her future milk production? Will she be prone to future infections? Thanks!

·
Registered
8,603 Posts
Depends on how/if she was treated. My doe had mastitis before I got her. She doesn't milk quite as well, and I can't milk her totally out either because of the tissue mass in her udder.

·
Premium Member
22,982 Posts
It totally depends on how bad the infection was and how aggressive treatment was.
I have a doe who had mastitis in one side in 2012, I caught it early enough that the only lasting affect with this past freshening was a small lump of scar tissue in the back of the affected udder.

·
395 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Here is some back story on the Doe, maybe it will help me to make an informed decision since I'm not an expert. Here is her breeding- 6M Galaxy on sire's side. Jacob's Pride with Goddard farm on Dam's side. She has been exposed to a Black Mesa buck (not confirmed though) and I know the Black Mesa ranch has really nice stock. Grand Champion and Best of Breed at the county fair this year. Averages 2 gallons per day at peak but had mastitis last year which owner says is now clear. I don't know how aggressively it was treated or how bad it was. She is 3 years old. Herd is CAE/CL free. She is priced reasonably but I don't want to be fighting issues with mastitis chronically. What do you guys think about the breeding etc? Is it worth the risk with all her positives?

·
Goat Girl
1,985 Posts