The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
522 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of the "bred" boers I purchased this winter has a due date of the 7th. While her half-sisters (who already delivered twins) had bagged up with milk a month prior to delivery, this gal still has none. She is a nice-sized goat, but definitely doesn't look pregnant the way her sisters did. I don't think we're having babies this weekend. :(

The breeder's note to me said that this gal "reseasoned" and thus had the later due date. I gather from this that she came into heat again, and so was rebred.

What would you experts say? I know that I can just try again, but I'm wondering if this looks bad for the future...

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
Well, I'm no expert so I don't know if I'll be any help, but I know some does just don't show very much, and some also don't start bagging up till right before they kid. :shrug: Maybe that's the case here?

·
Registered
522 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, that would be just wonderful, as she is our darling and favorite, but I'm not getting my hopes up. The two that already kidded were her half-sisters, so I'm guessing she would have some similarity in the way of bagging up. But ... I hope you're right!

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
One other possibility is that she isn't infertile, but just didn't like the buck, or vice versa. Sometimes they just won't breed if they takes dislike to one on amother. :)

·
Registered
17,285 Posts
Rarely ever is there a doe that is infertile. Now if she still doesn't kid well past her due date, then I would suspect cystic ovaries. Cystic ovaries do not allow eggs to drop during estrus, and thus no eggs can be fertilized. They can still have a heat cycle with cystic ovaries, but she may not have dropped any eggs. Have you noticed her in heat since you've had her?