The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I'm new to the goat spot and relatively new to goats in general... (although I've loved them for a long time!) I don't own a goat at this point, but I hope to get one in the next few years. In the mean time I want to learn as much as I can about them!

Could anyone share any insight to how raising a doe compares with raising a wether? I'm not interested in breeding it, just keeping it as a pet. Any info you can give helps!

Thanks!!

·
Registered
7,609 Posts
Wethers make the best pets, because you don't have to deal with a heat cycle as you would a doe, and if you are not interested breeding, they would be ideal... I have both and I adore my wethers.. I bottle raised them, so we are very bonded:)

·
Registered
1,040 Posts
For 'pet only'... hands down, IMO, bottle wether. Or wether who was dam raised but with a VERY hands on owner (my dam raised wethers make wonderful pets, if I do say so myself, though most of them are actually bred to go to freezer camp).

My does would make wonderful pets as well, they are super sweet and friendly, and there is nothing wrong with does as pets though they can get loud and pushy when they are in heat. But there are just fewer homes out there for the wethers, and does have multiple motivations in life... food, social status, reproduction.... most wethers just want food and cuddles. They are generally (but not always) less complicated. Plus, here at least, any wether that doesn't go into a pet home goes into the freezer. And while I count on that to keep us in meat each year I also would like to see at least a few of my kids end up being spoiled rotten pets.

·
Registered
1,319 Posts