Domineering Doe

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by cricket, Apr 25, 2010.

1. cricket

cricket New Member

Apr 24, 2010
    Hello, new to The Goat Spot. I will post pics as soon as I figure out how (help ? all I want is a profile picture !)

I know I have an aggression / dominating problem with my 3 year old alpine cross doe and I feel very foolish for letting it start in the first place. I just want to make sure that you folks agree I am on the right track before she hurts someone. I am a vet tech and often have intense discussions with clients about negative dog and horse behaviour so I feel like a complete idiot for letting this happen !

Cricket was my first goat, intended for horse company, which she is great at. She was a very sick kid when I got her and I spent an obscene amount of time with her. She followed me everywhere, I rarely enclosed her in her paddock and she was allowed to be "one of the family".

Unknowingly, we initially thought her "play" to be cute and encouraged her to head press, and laughed at her when she would rear (foolish foolish newbies, I know). She has NEVER connected with her head (disbudded) but she will crowd you and be pushy.

Her first 2 years she lived a life of luxury on our farm and came and went as she pleased. A year ago we moved and she no longer has the run of the property , and I am no longer at home as much as I was previously. In fact I am able to spend 1/4 of the time with her as I used to due to a new job. She is pissed ! She now has a wether (castrated and dis-budded) and a ewe for company, but Im sure it is me that she really wants back in her life.