drying off concerns

Discussion in 'Dairy Diaries' started by luvbug*diapers, Jul 23, 2010.

1. luvbug*diapers

luvbug*diapers New Member

Feb 22, 2010
    sunny california
    this is what i have done so far.
    it is my first time and concerned about her milk.

first week started milking morning only then every other day for week and a half.
    when i milked this morning and 2 days ago i noticed her milk a different color then the other doe we are keeping in milk.

it has a slight color to it.
    it is hard to tell if it is a tan or a red tint.faint but can tell comparing the two.
    did a mastitis test both times and seems fine maybe a very slight slimmyness to it.

also did temp this morning and was at 101
    eats fine,looks fine and acts fine

is this just a normal thing that happens when drying off? :whatgoat:
    she was in good production just have no more room for milk around here.

thank you for any info on this and sorry for the long post.

renee

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    Are you still milking EOD? With just 48 hours between milkings, the milk shouldn't be changing color or consistency, is she as full with each milking? If she's filling after each milking the milk should be normal.
    What mastitis test did you use? I have the Dr Naylors test cards, they won't tell you the bacteria strain but they do work with indicating mastitis.

3. kannm

kannm New Member

Mar 18, 2009
    Are these the ones for cows? Do they work for goats also (I assume they would, but just want to be sure)?

4. luvbug*diapers

Feb 22, 2010
    sunny california
    yes im milking eod i think it has been 3 times now and she is so full and hard at each milking.

i used CMT for the testing.
    it begins to get slimmy looking then slim balls form and worse as the mastitis gets worse.

they have a paper to indicate where she is with the mastitis if she has it by how slimmy and stringy it is.

so it is part inturpitation on the reader.