Drying up boer does

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by RPC, Apr 21, 2010.

1. RPC

RPC Boer Goat Breeder

As most of you know this is my first year breeding goats. I raised them in 4-H but got babies only after they were weaned. Yesturday we weaned the kids and brought the moms to my dads. The kids don't seem to care that they are gone but the moms are going crazy. Which I know will stop one day. Now my question. The moms are off all grain only getting grass how long does it "typically" take for them to dry up? Today I felt so bad for them their udders were sooooo engorged. I was able to milk both of them a little to releave some pressure. How many times a day should I try to milk them a little? I don't want to over due it and cause them to stay in milk but I don't want them to be horribley uncomfortable. Thanks

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    If they tolerate it, relieving pressure once a day will work...they need to have back pressure in the glands to "tell them to stop producing"

3. RPC

RPC Boer Goat Breeder

Thats kinda what I thought but this being there first full day without kids poor ruby was hunched up and shaking and Faith kept laying down and scratching at her udder so I figured I needed to milk a little out. I no where drained them. Just enough to make them feel better. I keep checking their udders and making sure they are not hot like mastitis. Hopefully they will dry up fast and not be in much pain.

4. DPW

DPW New Member

Mar 13, 2010
    Crow, Oregon.
    My two cents. Every case is different but weaning is usually a fairly stressful time for all involved. I would "wean" the does off grain gradually. Any abrupt change in diet can cause problems in itself. Add that to the stress of not having their babies around and you increase the possibility of problems arising.