The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a complete beginner duck-keeper, and I was wondering if you folks had any previous experience of a young (new layer) duck laying eggs with a grey-tinted yolk?

We have two female ducks and one (very, ahem, active) male. The ladies are 'at point of lay', and one of them surprised us with three day's eggs hidden in the hay!

The yolks of the first three were dark grey....and the succeeding four day's eggs are steadily getting less grey and more yellow, but are still tinted. Keeping yesterday's almost-normal colored yolk (cracked into a cup) in the fridge overnight resulted in the yolk being indented (think fallen cake!) and substantially darkened.

The funny thing is - THEY DO NOT SMELL OFF. Not at all. Not even when you break the yolk. Not even those first ones that were hidden in the hay for three days.

I'm not sure what breed the ducks are....the boy looks like a Pekeing to me....largish, white, with yellow beak and feet. The ladies are white and mottled, soft grey, with tufts on their heads, grey feet,and grey/green-tinted beaks.

They live alongside chickens (all 16 of 'Em) and my dairy goats....they have a very large enclosure, and the goats are out of it during the daytime to roam and graze. Also, if this has any bearing on it at all, my cat likes to roam the pen most days, and my Labrador will occasionally come in there with me ( the cat and the Lab are both out to be the one who comes in when I milk and gets the 'strip cup' milk!) :) So the ducks definitely have contact with other animals.

Any tips/advice/experience are greatly appreciated! Thank you all! :stars:

·
Registered
6,576 Posts