Due date is very soon!

Discussion in 'Waiting Room' started by goatmama, Apr 2, 2010.

1. goatmama

goatmama New Member

Mar 23, 2010
    My doe "Dixie" is getting very close to kidding. She will be 145 days on April 7th. From what I've been reading, the gestation for a Dwarf Nigerian is 145 days, although they can go up to 157 days. Am I on the right track here? I am new to goats and this is my first kidding season. Needless to say, I'm very excited and very nervous.

This is the second kidding for Dixie. I didn't own her when she kidded the first time, but I do know that she had four kids.

Attached Files:

2. liz

liz Well-Known Member

Oct 5, 2007
    Shelocta PA
    :leap: Getting close!!!

Yes, the mini's tend to go around 145...I had one doe that delivered on 143 twice!
    The latest I had one go was 152...and she was carrying a single.

3. goatmama

goatmama New Member

Mar 23, 2010
    I've been wondering if a doe could kid early. Dixie looks so uncomfortable. She is loosing her plug and has been for two weeks or more. No strings yet though. Sometimes it looks like a bubble coming out of her, but it's not the sack. I think that the kids are just filling her up so much that it is pushing her insides out. the bubble retracts. I thought she was going into labor tonight, but I felt her ligaments and although they are soft, I can still feel them every so slightly. I keep thinking that I should put her in the kidding pen at night, but she gets upset when I separate her from the other goats.

4. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008
    Corning California
    She may be slightly prolapsing....

Do you have 1 goat... that gets along with her.. that you can stall her with .... until she kids?

5. goatmama

goatmama New Member

Mar 23, 2010