Effective but inexpensive fencing

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by moonmilk_creamery, Oct 20, 2015.

1. moonmilk_creamery

moonmilk_creamery New Member

Oct 20, 2015
    Hi guys!!

I am new to goats and I will be getting two oberhasli does towards the end of November. They will be living next door from me on a great property. I will be there at least 2x a day to care and milk them. Unfortunately the property does not have a back fence or fencing in-between the driveway and the house. I was wondering if anybody had any suggestions for some inexpensive but quality fencing that would work. I was thinking about 6' tall because this fence would be on the property line and I would not want any goats escaping to the neighboring yards.

I live in an urban environment so it would probably be about 40'x40'. Maybe cattle panels with a wood frame? Or pallet fencing? Any suggestions would help!

Thanks,

Marisa :D

2. LAIR-goat-farms

LAIR-goat-farms New Member

Aug 6, 2015
    I would go with cattle panels or the 6' fencing

3. AintGotNoCreekRanch

AintGotNoCreekRanch New Member

Jan 1, 2014
    ELECTRIC MESH FENCES!!!!
    (That's why my friend has)
    PROS:
    -ABLE TO BE ADJUSTED TO SPECIAL NEEDS (odd shaped pens, around trees... Ect..)
    -CHEEP
    -GOATS CAN RUB ON THE FENCE AND TEAR IT UP (it's electric do yeah you get the point)
    You can switch it on and off though..
    I CAN'T THINK OF ANY CONS.... :)

HOPE THAT HELPED!!!

❤Kayla❤

4. AintGotNoCreekRanch

Jan 1, 2014
    I have chain link... Love it too not sure about the price because mine was free because it was used and we just cut it up. :)

❤Kayla❤

5. Cedar Point Kikos

Cedar Point Kikos Well-Known Member

Oct 16, 2013
    Canada
    Electric fence is AMAZING.