false pregnancy

Discussion in 'Health & Wellness' started by emilypaonia, May 14, 2010.

1. emilypaonia

emilypaonia New Member

May 14, 2010
    hi all,

my name is emily, i am new to the forum! i have two beautiful alpines named april and shedaisy (sisters). i am pretty new to the dairy goat raising world and this is my first kidding season... here is my situation....

april and shediasy went to the local buck's place last fall and lived with him for about 4 weeks... april bred pretty soon after being in with him, but shedaisy never seemed to come into heat or breed with him. the women who owns the buck said "in all my 40 years of goat raising, i would be very surprised if shedaisy was pregnant"... so i went with that, i didn't dry her off and assumed she had not been bred... now most people are probably thinking - what? she lived with the buck for 4 weeks and didn't get pregnant? are you crazy! well, shedaisy is a very inward gal, i assumed that she sort of shut down when put in with an aggressive buck that she was not familiar with... it was also late in the season, i live in colorado and i wanted to kid after any danger of sever cold weather, so i bred them in the beginning of december... also, the farm where the buck lives is a difficult place for april and shedaisy to be... before i got them, they lived there, but they were beat up by the other goats and both had a very traumatic experience there and traumatic kidding last year... so i assumed that shedaisy kind of shut down and did not come into heat while she was there because she was so uncomfortable there....