Farm Name for registering kids

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by Devin, Feb 22, 2011.

1. Devin

Devin New Member

Feb 6, 2011
    OK, I am just learning this stuff so bear with me! Does a farm name for the purpose of registering your kids have to be completely origional? Everything I try I google to see if there is another one on the internet and everything so far has been taken somewhere! (not necessarily goat related though) Some of my ideas have been

Meadowlark Farm
    Meadow Song Farm
    Hidden Meadow Farm

I wanted to go with a Meadow theme because my favorite "thinking spot" is a small hidden meadow not far from our house.

2. KW Farms

KW Farms Moderator Supporting Member

Jun 21, 2008
    Wapato, WA
    What goat registry are you looking at? I'm mostly familiar with ADGA and AGS.

ADGA is very strict with their herd names. I've been trying to get KW Farms registered with them for quite awhile and they said they won't because there is already one similar to that that is taken. I think you can go onto ADGA genetics and search the herd names? Not sure...haven't been on there in awhile.

AGS is more lenient and as long as your herd name isn't the same as one already taken then you are good to go.

I would email the registries you are interested in. Email them your top 5 choices and ask which ones are available...if any.

Good luck!

3. Devin

Devin New Member

Feb 6, 2011
    Arabella is all set up to be registered with ADGA. I just have to send in her papers. She was born at another farm so I don't have to worry about a farm name until she has kids, but I've been trying to come up with ideas. thanks!

4. JessaLynn

JessaLynn New Member

Aug 29, 2009
    NW Ohio