The Goat Spot Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
588 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I am very new to goats, and just got two 4 month old Nigerian dwarf does. They are currently on 1/2 cup of 12% sweet feed per day, per goat.
-When should I stop feeding sweet feed?
-They will have some forage available this summer... should I start them on Alfalfa pellets? Or will hay and some forage be enough?
- I will be getting a couple full sized goats (Nubian+Sannen/ND cross) soon (8 wks old). How long should I feed them sweet feed(12%)? Same questions as for the NDs above. ( Alfalfa pellets?No alfalfa pellets?)
-One of the ND does has had a cough and runny nose the last week or so... not sure what it is, as the other doe with her shows no symptoms... I have not checked temps though... picking up a thermometer tomorrow.(any advice on what kind?)
Thanks for responding! Im sure Ill have lots more questions, so be patient with me!

·
Super Moderator
58,910 Posts
You don't have to feed sweet feed. But I would offer them alfalfa pellets. They will need hay along with the grazing. They also need a good loose mineral.

You take their temp rectally. A digital thermometer is fine.

·
Registered
Kinder Goat Breeder
3,577 Posts
When should I stop feeding sweet feed?
Yep, What ksalvagno said. You actually don't have to feed any type of grain or concentrates if you don't want to, it would just be a matter of if you thought they needed some extra help with growth, then you may want to.

They will have some forage available this summer... should I start them on Alfalfa pellets? Or will hay and some forage be enough?