Feed recommendations

Discussion in 'Beginners Goat Raising' started by -WBoergoats, Jun 17, 2020.

1. -WBoergoats

-WBoergoats New Member

May 19, 2020
    Utah
    Looking for suggestions on a good grain to feed my breeding does and bucks. Mainly just like a maintenance feed that they get daily. They are fed free choice alfalfa and free choice sweetlix meat maker mineral. What do you guys feed? They are Boer does and bucks (weather bred). TIA!

Moers kiko boars likes this.
  2. CountyLineAcres

CountyLineAcres Well-Known Member

Jan 22, 2014
    Mineral Ridge, Ohio
    We feed a 16.5% sweet feed. I studied different feed labels that I heard great things about and worked with the nutritionist at our local mill to create our own mix. We save a lot of money this way.

If you can, I highly recommend seeking out a local mill near you that can help you customize grain. They can be invaluable.

3. -WBoergoats

-WBoergoats New Member

May 19, 2020
    Utah
    Thank you! I have been considering my local feed mill.

Has anyone mixed their own with the purina supplements?

https://www.purinamills.com/goat-feed/products/detail/purina-goat-charge-concentrate

4. -WBoergoats

-WBoergoats New Member

May 19, 2020
    Utah
    Also If I called my local feed mill and asked them about a goat grain is there anything In particular I should make sure it would have in it?

5. Iluvlilly!

Iluvlilly! Well-Known Member

Apr 6, 2019
    Wisconsin
    I am curious as well if any body has mixed their own with purina supplements!

Moers kiko boars and -WBoergoats like this.
  6. -WBoergoats

-WBoergoats New Member

May 19, 2020
    Utah
    Same here! I’m thinking about mixing it with some other grains from my feed mill since they only have dairy goat feed with no ammonium chloride..

Moers kiko boars and Iluvlilly! like this.
  7. Iluvlilly!

Iluvlilly! Well-Known Member

Apr 6, 2019
    Wisconsin
  8. toth boer goats

toth boer goats Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2008