Feed

Discussion in 'Goat Frenzy' started by SweetBabyPayne, Oct 7, 2010.

1. SweetBabyPayne

SweetBabyPayne New Member

Oct 6, 2010
    I am new to the Boer goat business. I currently have 5 boer goats and 3 pygmy goats. Now that the pasture is coming to an end, I need to feed them more grain. My question is there are so many goat feeds out there.
    I have looked and the major difference is medicated and not. 1st ?, is it best to feed medicated feed? #2 Can you feed medicated feed to pregnant, does that are kidding and kids?
    I am trying to get the best feed for my buck. I do plan to show some of the goats next year and my daughtes will show at 4-H. Most of the feed I see around my area are 16% protein with one being 15% and another being 18%. They range in price from $10/bag to $15/bag, bag is 50 lbs. The only difference I see in the labels is the about of salt and copper are different between them. What would be your suggestion, should I get the feed with the most salt and copper or would the one work fine that doesn't list salt and/or copper?
    The local (in Ohio) feed we have here is from TSC (Tractor Supply Company)which include Noble Goat, Producer's Pride, Dumor. We also have grainery that include custom mixes, High Noon, Starmaster, Show Boer, Show Right, MoorMan's ShowTec.
    Thanks for any input you have.

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    higher protein is good so like 16% or higher. You want a feed with copper in it. TSC carries some good feeds. I hear Dumor is actually really good. I have no experience with the others so they could be great but I wouldnt know

Make sure their main diet is hay though and you are just supplementing them with grain.

3. FunnyRiverFarm

FunnyRiverFarm New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    Hudson, MI