Feeding confusion

Discussion in 'Goat Management' started by billmac, May 28, 2009.

1. billmac

billmac Member

Sep 8, 2008
    I have two boers, 4 and 6 months old, two pygmys, about the same ages, and 3 nubian kids, about 6 weeks old.

I feed them hay and I feed them 16% textured dairy goat grain. The kids get free choice, and the 4 others get about 2.5 lbs total, twice a day.

Thus far, I have given them no supplements. I bought a mineral block but they don't touch it.

They seem to be doing fine, but I have little experience so I don't know if they are growing as fast as they should.

Should I be doing things differently? I assume there are minerals in the goat grain but I don't know if that is enough. I have a friend who feeds yeast to his goats every day, but I'm not sure why.

2. StaceyRosado

StaceyRosado Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2007
    NJ
    I dont know the need for the yeast but I do know that your goats will do much better with a loose mineral as opposed to a mineral block.

3. sparks879

sparks879 New Member

There are some minerals in the grain, but the thing with premixed grains and even pre mixed loose minerals is they are formulated for goats from florida to california to washington to main and every sate in between. Most goats are under dosed on most minerals. so while i do give purina loose goat mineral i do have to suppliment extra with copper and selinium. Dairy kids at six weeks are usually between twenty and thirty lbs...at least my kids are. some a little less some a little more. but thats the average. Im not sure on the others as i only have dairy goats.
    beth

4. billmac

billmac Member

Sep 8, 2008
    Sparks: What made you decide that your goats needed extra copper and selenium?

Are loose minerals fed on their own, or do you mix them with the food?

The nubian doelings are about 19-20 lbs and the buck is 25+

5. sparks879

sparks879 New Member